top of page

Clannad


"If you really are a man, you should grab the girl you love and run” - Akio Furukawa

Clannad is a comedy, drama, romance, school, slice of Life, and supernatural anime. It was originally released in October 2007 by Kyoto Animation with 23 episodes. It has an After Story, specials, and a movie.

General Rating: 8.2/10

My Rating: 10/10

There is barely an anime fan around who does not know of this anime. It is a widely known masterpiece, and rightfully so. Clannad was one of the first true romance animes I watched back in 2012 after being introduced to the anime through an AMV on youtube. I related myself to Nagisa a lot, as she was always sick, always found herself alone, and had an extreme love for cute things. I absolutely loved this anime from the first moment I laid eyes on it. Tomoya and Nagisa's first meeting under the cherry blossoms was a scene that sparked emotions, even back then, which was a rare thing for me back in 2012. This was long before my days of using My Anime List and I had barely been involved in anime for a year, so I knew nothing about what was in store for me with Clannad. The emotions came like an assassin in the night.


Story: I have always been a big fan of cute romance animes with at least a slight sense of realism, and this is a fact that Clannad fulfills very well. Clannad is one of the best romance animes I have ever seen and Tomoya and Nagisa were one of my first favorite couples. I fell in love with them at first sight under the cherry blossoms. Ideal romantic setting. Cute couple. I loved how different the two are, and how Nagisa gave Tomoya a reason to come to school every day and changed his attitude about that. The emotions are strong with Clannad, but in my opinion, thats what makes it such a good romance. Characters: I love the way Clannad not only puts efforts into the female characters, but also the male ones. This is one of its highest selling points in my opinion. Its never any fun seeing a girl falling in love with a guy that makes you feel like taking a nap, like in most harem animes. Clannad has very cute female characters that are very likable and unique as well as great male characters that have actual personality.

Soundtrack: Clannad has a beautiful soundtrack. Its ending "Dango" is still one of my favorites, especially how Nagisa would sing it. It's soundtrack is easily recognizable and enjoyable throughout the anime as well, especially during the emotional parts.

Art: Clannad's character designs are still some of my favorites even all the years later. I love the art style this anime has. Sometimes I think Clannad is one of the reasons I love 2000s art the most.


Clannad is known for being a beautiful masterpiece romance anime in all aspects, and it most certainly is. Clannad is one of the few romance animes that has it all. I love its realistic romance and how it doesn't save the romance for the last episode like I have seen so many other animes do. Fans of animes like Da Capo, Kobato, Rumbling Hearts, True Tears, Ao Haru Ride, Ef: A Tale of Memories/Melodies, Gift Eternal Rainbow, Air, Fruits Basket, Kare Kano, Lamune, Kimi ni Todoke, or Kanon will definitely love this anime and should give it a watch.

Comments


bottom of page