top of page

Orange


“Hanging in there, living, is the toughest thing there is." - Naruse Kakeru

Orange is a sci-fi, drama, romance, school, and shoujo anime originally released in July 2016 by Telecom Animation Film with 13 episodes. The series does have continuing seasons.

General Rating: 7.7/10

My Rating: 10/10


First of all, this anime looked plain from the start.. just a slice of life romance story about some high schoolers. Boy was I ever wrong. Seems this underrated gem is a true masterpiece. The plot and characters are both incredibly unique and interesting. This anime also covers some very deep themes as well, including the fact that just wishing for something wont make it true. I loved this anime to its core, and its far from being a lighthearted school anime, for this anime harbors some deep, heavy, and emotional weights. Be cautioned... Like I said, the plot is very interesting from beginning to end, and has a level of uniqueness I didn't expect from a story like this. The plot follows Naho, a high school girl who receives a letter from her future self to help her not experience so many regrets. She attend high school with her four other friends, and a transfer student, her love interest, who joins their group. The letter warns her to keep a close eye on him, Kakeru Naruse and be careful in making decisions involving him, as it tells how Kakeru has died in the future. Using that letter as her guide, Naho tries her hardest to protect Kakeru from that future. The story is very intricately woven and it never has a dull moment as Naho tries to accomplish her goal of protecting Kakeru, and falls in love along the way. Also, I think its worth to mention this anime does not just write off this whole "letter being sent into the past" as fate, but actually goes through the effort of explaining this "fate-like" act. The art is really enjoyable, and has the usual pastel-like aesthetic of shojo romance. The art also takes strong notice of the characters' lips and also facial expressions. It was a bit different than the typical style in this sense and was quite nice. The backgrounds are also really good too, and go smoothly with the color schemes of the characters. As an anime of the 2010s, this animation quality is generally expected, but the art really did fit the story well, as their distinctive features highlighted the animes' more serious vibe - unlike the usually cutesy style of shojo romance that just would not have fit this anime. The soundtrack was very enjoyable and fit the anime to the key. It didn't stand out too much, but the story is also strongly this animes' main focus, which makes its other elements be blurred. The openings and endings were both nice, but very subtle, which worked great as this animes' supporting factor. First of all, I've noticed a lot of people complaining about how annoying these characters were or how stupid their actions sometimes would seem. I'd agree. It was frustrating. BUT! These characters are high schoolers. They are kids. The amount of realism this anime used in making these characters act that way was actually very well done, contrary to popular opinion. These characters weren't made "oblivious" to progress the plot, but they are naturally so that way because of their age, their experience, and honestly they are oblivious to a lot of things because they are young, so why shouldn't they act that way? Also, they learn as they go along, becoming more bold or looking from a new perspective, just like normal, growing kids would. Especially with the burden they carry with Kakeru. They were all very well designed characters and I don't think I would have changed a thing about them. Again, this anime focuses on serious issues and emotions, and has characters that reflect this. I've said this plenty times already, but I thoroughly enjoyed this anime. I also found myself relating a lot to these characters, especially Naho, and quite honestly, Kakeru reminded me a LOT of how I use to feel. That relating to these characters is, I believe, just another reason I such enjoyed this anime. For a romance anime, that honestly is not the focus of the anime, but it does play a beautiful roll, and one I deeply find myself relating to. This anime obviously doens't appeal to the general public, who give it such mediocre ratings. Nothing about this anime is mediocre. Overall, I'd say this anime is one of the best I've ever seen in this genre, and for that, it surprised me. It was not the ride I was looking for, but it was the one I needed. Surprisingly, this gem is the second great romance anime from the year 2016. I commend it for standing out, and giving me that emotional, romantic, and heavy trip of a lifetime. It might be only 13 episodes (and a movie), but this anime is full-packed. I'd recommend this anime to someone who enjoys, and expects another story such as: Erased, Eden of the East, Anohana, Kokoro Concert, Girl Who Leapt Through Time, and Ao Haru Ride. Thanks for reading, and please consider this anime if you're looking for a serious, semi-dark anime highlighting the light of romance, and love from another person, and how it can truly change the future. Overall 10/10, and one of my all time favorite romances. Full points from me all around.

Bình luận


bottom of page