top of page

Parasyte the Maxim


"Shinichi, upon researching the concept of demons, I believe that, among all life, humans are the closest thing to it. Although humans kill and eat a wide variety of life forms, my kind eat merely one or two kinds at most. We are quite frugal in comparison.”- Migi

Parasyte (Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu) is a action, sci-fi, horror, psychological, drama, and seinen anime. It was originally released in October 2014 by Madhouse with 24 episodes. It has any continuing series.

General Rating: 8.5/10

My Rating: 10/10

Parasyte is an anime I discovered by accident in 2015 shortly after its release. I was a bit skeptical at first, not being the biggest fan of the horror genre. However after the first episode, I was absolutely hooked. I loved the psychological elements of Parasyte and it was completely a unique anime from anything I had ever seen before. It is still in my top 20 and a very loved anime of mine. Parasyte was also the anime that introduced me to the seinen genre that I now love.

In the world of Parasyte, parasitic aliens creep into the bodies of unsuspecting humans, control their brains, and use them to cause terror on the streets or even in the political scheme. Shinichi, an overall bland guy, falls victim to one of these attacks, but he is able to stop the alien from possessing his brain and settles in his hand instead. Shinichi then not only began to change physically, but mentally too. The fights in Parastye became epic for this reason, and seeing Shinichi's change was remarkable. I love psychological animes that play mind games with us, and Parastye was most certainly one of those. The parasite infested humans blended in with normal society and did not just attack berserkly, but strategically. I loved the fact that the aliens weren't just monsters in this anime, but intelligent monsters. That's what made it so interesting for me.


Story: I love the intellectual battles, unknown elements, and human-alien relationship Migi (the alien parasite) and Shinichi share. It is not like Eren and his Titan form (Attack on Titan), because Shinichi and Migi share consciousness and are forced to live symbiotically. This is my favorite development of the story and the unique partnership between the two is what made this anime a success and kept its story interesting. I can definitely see horror elements in this anime, but none that I disliked. In fact, they fit in perfectly with the anime's dark theme, which I absolutely loved. I also loved the uncovering of elements as this anime progressed.

Characters: This anime features a very wide array of interesting characters, some of whom have parasites in their brains to blame their eccentric behavior on. The anime is very character driven due to it being mainly about parasites that live inside and control said characters. Migi is also a very unique character, as he is a separate character from his host, and one of my favorites of the series. I am always a fan of the smart characters, and thus my attraction towards Migi. Soundtrack: Parasyte has a hands down great soundtrack, great openings, and endings too. It's an early 2010s anime and has great quality and sound. I love the voice acting in this anime, especially from Migi. The voice fit him perfectly.

Art: Parasyte has a great art style, very 2010s with a style expected more from a seinen anime than cutesy shoujo or the bright colored shounen. It's got a great style and detail in the alien parasites especially. The character designs might look plain from the outside, but that is one of this animes selling points. A normal society that is turned upside down by alien parasites is the animes entire theme, and it almost requires the characters to not stand out. However after Shinichi is infected, the change also affects his looks slightly and demeanor, and the entire style fits the anime very well.


I especially recommend fans of animes like Attack on Titan, Death Note, Tokyo Ghoul, Elfen Lied, Darker than Black, Texhnolyze, From the New World, Hunter x Hunter, Guilty Crown, Phantom, Koutetsujou no Kabaneri, or Monster to try out this anime.


Комментарии


bottom of page