top of page

Your Lie in April


“We’re all afraid, you know.. to get up on stage. Maybe you’ll mess up. Maybe they’ll totally reject you. Even so, you grit your teeth and get up on stage anyway.” – Kaori Miyazono

Your Lie in April (Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso) is a drama, music, romance, school, and shounen anime originally released in October 2014 by A-1 Pictures with 22 episodes.

General Rating: 8.8/10

My Rating: 2/10 Ah, Your Lie in April, the best romance anime with so much feels I cry my eyes out at the mere mention of its name! Such a masterpiece it is, and who the hell am I kidding? YLIA SUCKS! There is not a single redeemable quality about this anime. I do not understand how people can cry over this bucket of crap! What's there to feel sad about honestly? That this was such a terrible anime? That's one reason I can agree with. There isn't a story. The end. YLIA is supposed to show the story of suffering pianist, Kousei Arima and his romance with the cheerful violinist, Kaori, who is slowly dying from a disease. Kousei is traumatized during every performance because of his mother's abuse and death. Sounds pretty tragic right? So you know something is very wrong when this anime fails to give me any sort of emotion at all. The drama sucks. It's pointless, repetitive, and annoying. There is honestly no story progression. Kousei gets over his fear of performing and Kaori's condition worsens. But what's the story that goes along with it? Things just happen for the sake of happening! Like hello? Crappy stories I wrote in kindergarten have more plot then this crap! I thought I missed something when Kaori, spoiler alert, died because I was like wait that's it? It was a huge let down after hearing it compared to one of my favorite animes, Clannad, all the time. Also the romance is SERIOUSLY lacking. It's forced, superficial, and really lame. Kousei loves Kaori as soon as they meet and it really doesn't develop much from there. Like um HELLO! This is supposed to be a ROMANCE anime! WHERE IS THE ROMANCE? Someone get me a magnifying glass to find that romance. Now I might not have been the biggest fan of the art, but it's alright. Bright, colorful, and very pretty designs. It is visually appealing and eye catching. And that's about all this anime even has going for it. As an anime centered around music, I say it's done pretty well. .. the music itself at least. How the music is incorporated into the story is sloppy! It's not used smoothly and to progress the characters. It doesn't DO anything except oh hey that's nice to listen to! If I wanted to listen to music I'd use my radio. I'm looking for an ANIME here. The music, story, and characters can't flow separately, but yet that's what YLIA is trying to do. There is nothing, not a single thing about these characters that interests me. They are boring people that mean nothing to me. Even their passions for music are dull, dull, dull! Everything's just sort of there, and nothings coming together. There is just NOTHING to these characters. All they do is take the single thing about these characters and keep repeating it over and over and over! Thanks Kousei for reminding us he had a traumatic past since we might have forgotten in the last 2.5 seconds! Super helpful and definitely necessary to our story. Keep it up. And Kaori is really just there for the drama. Really what this anime suffers from is the same thing Kousei is suffering from in the anime - playing just what's on the page! I swear some messed up crap like that happened here, like some dood made the anime without even making a story. Good, I got one basic trait for each my characters and story? Heh who the hell needs story? I'll just throw in some drama to blend in the gaps! **production staff high fives** In result, we have a whole cast of boring characters that literally contribute nothing to anything and are incapable of making me feel any sort of motion towards them. As you can probably tell by this far into my review, YLIA is my most favorite anime of all time! No plot? No development? No romance? Now that sounds like one hell of a successful anime! To be honest, there is one part of YLIA I most definitely enjoy. Pissing off annoying normie fanboys who obsess over this crap of an anime! Overall its an utter piece of crap. Hi I'm Kousei I play the piano because I was forced to and I'm always sad, but oh hey there's a pretty girl and now my life gets better but oops she *spoiler alert* dies so okay everyone be sad for me now. That's it. That's the story. Honey, I feel sad for the grass that gets squashed when it's stepped on, but I can't understand how to feel sorry for you and cry my eyes out for you, so I'm thinking you got an issue there.This anime is WAY too overrated, and really lacks any passion. Just flush it down the toilet like the trash it is and go watch some real romance. If you are thinking to watch this, try Kids on the Slope or Nodame Cantabile instead.

Comments


bottom of page