top of page

Yuri!!! on Ice


"He never fails to surprise me. Ever since I first saw his skating, it's been a never-ending chain of surprises." - Yuuri Katsuki (about Victor)

Yuri!!! on Ice is a comedy/sports anime originally released in October 2016 by MAPPA with 12 episodes. The series does not have continuing seasons.

General Rating: 8.1/10

My Rating: 3/10


I'm sure you'll all be glad to know I just found the cure for insomnia. And I give this cure the title of Yuri on Ice. OUTSTANDING levels of pure boringness that it will put even the hardest insomniac to sleep in minutes! No joke. No clickbait. This is the only cure guaranteed to work! I am also proud to announce and welcome Yuri on Ice to my dropped list. Why waste my time with this shit when I could be watching good anime? Or okayish anime. Or really any other anime that's not Yuri on Ice. There's more character progression in Your Lie in April than this crap. Yuri is supposedly a good skater who's in a slump. Or so we're told. Then along comes his gay lover and suddenly everything's perfect. Talk about no substance for a story. It's basically YLIA with ice skating and gayish lovers who don't die. You'll get tons of lengthy performances by poorly introduced characters that you neither know or care about. Exactly like seen in YLIA. It gets so old, you'll yawn and go to sleep. (And in case you want to know my reputation for falling asleep during anime, I watched every single Naruto filler without dying of boredom. This, though, this is boring.) And no, I'm not a fujioshi or a yaoi fan by any means, but if I were, this anime would have disappointed me. Is it gay? It's gay. But is it gay, gay? Who knows. It's average. Nothing extraordinary. It's a 2016 anime so that sort of art is expected. I'm meh about it, but it's alright. This was the only part I enjoyed. The opening. In fact that was the ONLY part of the entire anime that I wasn't snoring through or tempted to skip. The opening is very catchy and also nostalgic memories for me. I could listen to it for hours. Also the character voices were great too. I watched in the dub, and for one reason only. Victor was voiced by Jerry Jewel, the same voice actor who voiced Russia from Hetalia. And THAT I gotta hear. It was like gay Russia and I was 10/10 all in for laughing at that. But even that got old and I went back to snoozeworld. They all sucked. Dick. Because they were gay. Like I said, it sucked. It all sucked. Besides that op and Jerry Jewell. And making fun of Yuri for being a pathetic gay loser. That was fun. Pathetic. 100% pathetic. I dropped it because there was no way, no matter the ending, that this anime could be anything but a boring, crappily made snoozefest. No ending could convince me otherwise at the point of failure Yuri on Ice reached. And to the fujioshies who fangirl for this shit, I think ya'll can do better. -_- Yuri on Ice? More like my snoring face on ice.


I am fairly certain that most people who watch this/want to watch this are fujioshi (yaoi fangirl) and I DESPISE yaoi and thus can not recommend anything other than to visit a garbage dump.

Comments


bottom of page